Remove an email account from Outlook on Windows

Introduction

Removing an email account from Outlook doesn't deactivate the email account. Once you delete an account from Outlook, you'll no longer be able to send and receive mail from that account in Outlook.

These instructions are for Outlook 2016, 2013, and 2010 only. 

Steps to Remove

  1. From the main Outlook window, select File in the upper left corner of the screen.

 

  1. Select Account Settings Account Settings.

  2. Select the account you want to delete, then select Remove.

  3. You'll see a message warning you that all offline cached content for this account will be deleted. This only affects content downloaded and stored on your computer.

    Select Yes to confirm.

Important: If you want to delete the last or the only email account you have in Outlook, you'll receive a warning that you must create a new location for your data before removing the account. For more information, see Create an Outlook Data File.

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 127404
Created
Fri 2/5/21 2:56 PM
Modified
Fri 2/5/21 2:58 PM