How do I permanently delete an email in Gmail?

Introduction

When you delete a message, it stays in your Trash for 30 days. After that time, it will be permanently deleted. This article will also show you how to empty your trash.

 

Delete a single message

  1. On your computer, go to email.kent.edu.
  2. Point to the message.
  3. On the right, click the trash can icon (Delete).

To delete a single message from an email thread:

  1. Open the message.
  2. Next to Reply, click More.
  3. Click Delete this message.

Empty your Trash

If you don't want a message to stay in your Trash for 30 days, you can permanently delete it.

NOTE: This will permanently remove the message from your email.

  1. On your computer, go to email.kent.edu.
  2. On the left side of the page, click More.
  3. Scroll to Trash.
  4. Check the box next to messages you want to permanently delete, then click Delete forever.
    Note: The Delete forever option is only available in the Trash. You won’t be able to delete items forever from the Search result view.
  5. To delete all messages in your trash, click Empty Trash now.

For additional information on this, please see this Google Support page.

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 131395
Created
Thu 4/8/21 7:41 PM
Modified
Fri 4/9/21 9:14 AM