Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (Faculty)

  • Blackboard Collaborate is a powerful all-in-one platform that offers an immersive human experience through a computer, tablet, or mobile device anywhere, anytime.
  • A fully interactive web conferencing environment and asynchronous voice authoring capabilities allow for greater engagement so users don’t miss a thing.
  • A robust tool set allows web conferencing and connecting with one student or the entire class.
  • Instructors and students can collaborate using audio, video, and recording capabilities.
  • Also available are private and public chat, a whiteboard, application sharing, a clip art library, and content can be added or edited at any time.

Recommendations:

It is recommended that Blackboard Collaborate be accessed on a computer that has a web cam, speakers (or better yet, headphones), a microphone and a reliable internet connection.  Please use Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox as they are the recommended browsers for Blackboard Learn.

Getting Started

On the left-hand menu of the course, click on Course Tools then Blackboard Collaborate Ultra. Click Create Session.

Image showing button to create session

Under Event Details, name the session and select the start and end dates and times. Set the Session Settings. Click Save.

Image showing event details and session settings and save button

Once the session has been created, click on the Session Options icon and select Join Session.

Image showing session options and join session button

Until someone joins the room, the screen will indicate that the room is empty.

Image showing that the room is empty until someone joins the room

Clicking on the “hamburger” icon in the upper left will open the Start Recording and help options. Clicking the purple arrow on the right shows audio and video settings, chat, members and how to share content.

Image showing the start recording and help options Image showing the audio and video settings

Setup for “Collaborate Ultra” Link in a Blackboard Learn Course

Once the Collaborate Ultra session is created, you should add a tool link to the left navigation of your Blackboard Learn course.

  1. Make sure that Edit Mode is on by toggling the option at the top right-hand corner of your course page.
  2. Click the + sign at the top of your course menu (on the left).
    • Select Tool Link from the drop-down options.
  3. For Name, type Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.
  4. Click the drop-down next to Type and select Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.
  5. Check the box for Available to Users.
  6. Click Submit.
  7. Repeat these steps in any additional sections that require the Blackboard Collaborate Ultra link.

 

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Breakout Groups

To facilitate small group collaboration, you can create breakout groups that are separate from the main room and assign attendees to them. Breakout groups have their own private audio, video, whiteboard, application sharing, and chat. Any collaboration that takes place in a group is independent of the Main room (and other groups). Click here for more information about Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Breakout Groups.

 

Attendance Reporting

Attendance reporting is off by default. You must turn attendance reporting on for each session you want to track attendance in.

Attendance reporting is only available in sessions with an end date and time. You can't track attendance in your course room.

  1. Create or edit a session and select the Share attendance information with LMS check box to turn attendance reporting on.
  2. Optionally, change the late, absent, and required time in session thresholds (100% is not recommended as it would not allow for any brief connection disruptions)
  3. Select Save.

Collaborate Ultra Session Settings for Attendance Reporting

Based on the criteria you set, Collaborate tracks if a student is present, late, or absent from a session. Collaborate then sends that information directly to the Attendance page in your Blackboard Learn course.

More information on Attendance Reporting in Collaborate Ultra.

More information on the Attendance tool.

 

Using the Guest Link to Include Users in a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Session

You can include someone in your Collaborate Ultra session who is not enrolled in your Blackboard Learn class. Set up a Collaborate Ultra session in a course, then share the Guest Link with the others to join in. You can find the guest link on the screen where you set up the session. It will appear after you name the session.

 

Recording Lectures in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra

An alternative to using Kaltura Capture to record and upload your lecture is to pre-record your lecture video in Collaborate (without any attendees) and then share it with students asynchronously. This will alleviate bandwidth issues. Click here for more information regarding Recording Lectures in Blackboard Collaborate Ultra.

 

Click here for additional information regarding Blackboard Collaborate Ultra for Faculty.

 

Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 66859
Created
Thu 11/8/18 10:41 AM
Modified
Mon 7/26/21 11:03 AM