Upgrade from Legacy Auth to Modern Auth on an iOS device using the Mail App.

 

Check your Version of iOS

Depending on your version of iOS, you may need to upgrade to avoid a service disruption

  • iOS 12 or newer: The Mail and Calendar apps that come with iOS 12 or newer will continue to work; however, you may need to delete and re-add your email/calendar account to avoid a service disruption.
  • iOS 11 and older: The built-in Mail and Calendar apps for iOS 11 and older will not work. We recommend upgrading your device to the latest version of iOS or switching to Outlook for iOS(opens in a new window).

Delete and Re-add your Exchange/Office 365 Account from your Apple Device Settings.

Delete an email account

  1. Click on Settings button on your iOS device:

 

  1. Scroll down and click on Passwords & Accounts. In older versions of iOS, the option is called Accounts & Passwords:

 

  1. Click on the account that you will delete:
  1. Click on Delete Account.

 

  1. You will be asked again if you wish to delete the account. Click Delete Account again.
  1. The account is now deleted. You can close out Settings.

Note: If the Delete Account button is not appearing, you may need to turn off all locations of which the account is being used by deselecting them.

 

Setup an email account

  1. Click the Settings icon
  1. Select Passwords & Accounts and select Add Account
  1. Select Microsoft Exchange


Exchange

  1. Enter the following information:
    • Email: <your Kent State email address>
    • Description: Enter a name for the account. (ex. Kent Email Account)

iOS Screenshot Exchange options

 

  1. Select Next in the upper right corner
  1. You will be asked to allow discovery of your email settings, tap Sign In to continue


Popup to allow email setting discovery

 

  1. Sign in with your Flashline username and password and click "Submit"


iOS screenshot of KSU sign in page

 

  1. Select which items you would like to synchronize. By default, all items are enabled for synchronization. When finished, select Save.


Select which items you would like to synchronize. By default, all items are enabled for synchronization. When finished, select Save.

 

  1. Your account will begin synchronizing in the background.
Was this helpful?
0 reviews

Details

Article ID: 95260
Created
Mon 1/6/20 1:53 PM
Modified
Fri 5/15/20 3:12 PM